Movement Without Movement

http://www.kevinlucius.com/#_

Image

 

So I found this site by Google-ing “personal web design inspiration” and it turned out to be really similar to what I want my site to be. I know literally nothing about this guy except for the fact that he’s apparently tall and has a cool website. At first, the color scheme and typography caught my eye. I really like the neutral tones he uses, starting with the wood paneling at the top. It’s different and natural and easy to look at. If you look a little more closely at the lower background, it’s a roughed up checkered pattern, which I really like. Again, it’s easy to look at. You could ignore it or stare at it and it doesn’t take away from the overall effect of the website, which I would say is to make the viewer comfortable.

You can’t tell from the picture, but if you follow the link at the top, you’ll be able to see that whenever you click on a picture or a link, it doesn’t completely switch pages, just simply opens up on the same page. I can’t remember exactly what this is called, but Professor Campbell mentioned it on Thursday and it’s exactly what I want to do. Not only aesthetically, but also rhetorically, because I really feel that this device forces the viewer to stay on the same page, flowing from one idea to the next. You move through the website without actually moving (that’s the best way I can think of to describe this technique, sorry). There’s also movement when you click on the different tabs right under the wooden design.

He also has his social media links at the very top, sort of separate from the rest of the site. I’m not entirely sure why this is so separate. Maybe a common reason for finding someone’s website is to follow them on Twitter on contact them or something. That’s not my own personal reason to seeking out people’s websites, I just like to see how they want to present themselves to the world. I’m usually either completely disappointed or completely inspired by design choices.

 

SJM

One thought on “Movement Without Movement

  1. I really enjoy the simplicity (although I’m sure it was not simple to actually code) and calming, neutral tones of this website. I feel this approach to web design is in line with a trend in technology I’ve been seeing lately towards creating technology that imitates tangible reality. People seem to have recovered from the novelty of flashy websites and are now feeling nostalgic for life before the digital revolution. I see this too in developer’s attempts to create reading tablets with screens that look as similar as possible to real paper. We now appreciate streamlined and simple, beautifully designed websites, where the HTML and CSS are completely invisible.

Leave a Reply

