Web Analysis: OLÉ SOIREE

I stumbled upon a website called Site Inspire when I was looking for website inspiration and creatively searched “website inspiration” on Google. Site Inspire was the first result, and it contains a multitude of clean and excellently designed websites. I recommend taking a look there! I decided to analyze one of the websites I found on there, OLÉ SOIREE.

Screen shot 2013-10-07 at 11.50.23 AM

After translating the site from German to English, I discovered Olé Soiree was the name of a pop-up dinner party event that would be held in unusual places around a German town called Weisbaden. It sounded like a cute idea! We should have one in Pittsburgh. Anyway, back to the website: the page is a single page design (i.e. clicking on any of the links in the header area will simply move you up or down the page to the area the link describes). The single page design, I think, usually ends up looking nice but isn’t always the most efficient way to share information, as a viewer can easily get lost on the page. However, if we look at/consider each separate “page” the links link to, I found that it is a beautiful website with stunning graphics an bright colors. The information is displayed very clearly in a font that is both uncommon (i.e. not available on Microsoft Word) yet entirely readable. The font, even when white on a colored background, manages to be very clear. The only thing that may not entirely work is that the background have white specks in them that sort of blend into the white text, but I personally had no trouble discerning the difference between text and speck.

Speaking of backgrounds, I really appreciated how the background for each “page” was simply a recoloring of the same background. It added variation yet stuck to a common theme that connected the entire website back together.

One of my favorite parts of this website was that the header with all of the links always stayed at the top of the page, no matter how much you scrolled down. I think this allows for easy navigation for the viewer. I also am in love with the footer: I’m a huge social media user, so I’m planning on making links to my various accounts using bright, colorful graphics like the ones seen here:

Screen shot 2013-10-07 at 12.04.25 PM

I also love the colored footer. It sticks out and forces the viewer to look at it, even though they know it contains boring contact and copyright information.

From this website I am now inspired to work to make:

  • a sticky navigation bar
  • a colored footer with social media graphics
  • (if using a background) a variable yet cohesive background
  • white-on-color graphic style

Mostly, looking at this website has reinforced the fact that I want my website to be clean and brightly colored.

-ks

Leave a Reply

