who am i? analysis

I listened to the podcast “Who am I?”.  I think that this particular one had some good elements in it that I will be able to integrate into my own audio project.  It was put together in a pretty distinct manner.  It started off with two men talking about various components of psychology and then providing stories and examples to illustrate their notions.  I liked the method of giving the example and then transitioning into the story.  They used long pauses as transitions and I think that this made it really easy to follow who was speaking, and what was going on. 

One part that got my attention was when they were talking about the lady with the aneurism.  It started with the woman who had the aneurism.  She was talking about the day she got sick, and there were many cool sound effects throughout.  There was bouncy aerobics music when she was at her workout class, and then there was a dramatic pause as an ambulance sound faded in.  After the ambulance another woman started speaking.  As a listener, I didn’t know exactly who it was, and it got my attention.  Come to find out, it was her daughter.  I think this method of throwing another voice into the mix without an introduction really gets the listener’s attention (as long as they find out who it is later).  Also, it keeps you guessing as to what happened to the mother.  There is a lot of suspense surrounding this such as a beeping heart monitor in the hospital.  They use these sound effects to build up an emotion, and I think it is really effective.

While I liked all of the sound effects, I found myself wondering where to draw the line.  When do you guys think it becomes too much?

The next part that I liked was when they were using Bill Clinton’s voice.  There were different ways in which they were playing the audio—sometimes you could hear it more loudly out of one side versus the other.  I thought it was cool that they mixed it up since they were playing the same clip over and over.

The third part that I liked was when a man was giving his opinion on what another person said.  After each time he stated his opinion, a sound clip played of the original person.  This was a good way of bringing everything together really succinctly.  It was much more effective than just letting the entire original clip play and then stating his opinion on it.

I think that I will take a little bit from everything that I heard in this documentary.  Each part that I described above uses a technique that might be applicable to my project.  I think that I will definitely be using clear transitions, because that is something that I found really necessary to keep all of the voices straight.

-JK

Leave a Reply

