What does it mean that I’m me? Should we charge monkeys with murder?

I enjoy listening to radio shows like NPR because they do a good job of telling amazing stories and taking you away for the length of the segment.  I like “Who Am I?” because it didn’t make me feel anxious like the other two podcasts (although it did have some eerie/creepy music).  The other pod casts made me feel like I needed to be on extra alert just so I didn’t’ miss something, where in turn this pod cast made it feel easy to follow along and almost like you were sitting in the room with the individuals talking.  I also noticed that abrupt halts in sound were used in order to dramatize parts of the segment.  I think this works since you do feel at ease while listening to the audio; you need something to keep you on track when there is a transition.  It’s almost like a replacement for body language!

The quick back and forth conversational commentary might create anxiety for some listeners but I found it very helpful for staying engaged.  I imagine that this technique probably takes some experience in order to create something that is easy to follow along with/makes sense.  The “I did not have sexual relations with that woman” morph with bill Clinton and the other guys was a great way to translate a visual idea into audio—how clever!  This brings me back to the intro of the segment when there was a mix of all different voices and languages to create a single sentence, which gave the program a worldly and sophisticated feeling.  I think I’d like to use that technique in my audio project.  Class: I am always so impressed with the musical choices that these audio segments match up with the conversations.  I feel like I struggle with finding the right music that will match the tone of my story.  Can someone share with me pointers on how to choose the right music and where you get it?  Or do you just need to have a knack for it?

ADW

One thought on “What does it mean that I’m me? Should we charge monkeys with murder?

  1. You bring up an interesting point by saying you felt anxiety about thinking you might miss something while listening to these audio documentaries. I feel that audio is such an unexplored medium–it gets neglected as people seem to prefer images/text or video. We have almost become dependent upon visual cues to guide us along. It makes one wonder, is the aural medium actually harder to follow, or have we just been so conditioned to interpret visual cues that we become anxious without them? Whether our slight illiteracy with the aural medium has been societally ingrained or is slightly natural, it’s regardless something we as audio producers need to be cognizant of while creating audio documentaries or other audio pieces. We need to be extra careful to speak slowly, provide contextual clues, and use dramatic sound effects to further our stories and so as not to confuse our audience.

    As far as your music question goes, I have the same problem! I’ll usually go through my playlists listening to tracks until one sounds right, or ask one of my more musically inclined friends for their input.

Leave a Reply

