How to mix your tracks

I’m not sure about you guys, but my project has a ton of different layers. At least eight. Ideally, when we export our work, the sound will mix together. Unfortunately this is basically impossible to figure out and there are no decent tutorials that explain mixing tracks. I spent at least two hours tonight searching for one. But I finally figured it out!

I really hope that this saves you all some time, because I was about to throw my computer against the wall.

I suggest to try it out as a test before you actually go through and make your real edits.

Step 1: Import two audio files. Make sure they’re files that are fairly different so that you can be sure that they mixed.

Image

Step 2: Locate the “Tracks” tab at the top of the page.

Image

Step 3: For whatever reason I can’t figure out how to take a screenshot of this, but click on “Tracks,” then on the dropdown select “Mix and Render.”

Step 4: By clicking on “Mix and Render,” your two tracks will be mixed into one. See below

Image

Step 5: Assuming that you’ve downloaded the LAME encoder, you can then proceed to export!

NOTE: Don’t follow the instructions in the tutorials that tell you to use “Export Multiple.” I’m sure that function is useful, but I think for our purposes, it makes things more confusing. I might have just completely cheated by mixing tracks this way, but I think it’s the easiest.

SJM

Leave a Reply

