Knowing what you’re working with

If you’re anything like me, you love organization almost to a fault.  I have an almost constant compulsion to know exactly where everything is at all times and to know that I’m going to be able to find it if I look. I almost had a panic attack when I imported all my files into Audacity and realized I had zero clue what was what.

ss1

 

Insert hyperventilation, blurred vision, increased heart rate, and cold sweats.

When working with many different pieces of audio in Audacity, especially in separate tracks, it is important to make sure that you know exactly which recordings are which. This will not only save you time when finding the right clip you want to sample from, but it will save your sanity as well.

ss2

 

Whew. Now I can see what I’m working with.

This simple step only takes a few moments, but it will save you more than that as you work through your edits. Instead of having to listen to the first few seconds of each clip in order to find the right file, all you have to do is look in the gray bar on the left of each file to see what it is.

1. First, import your files into Audacity. The file names should all be in numbers on the left hand side.

ss3

2. Click the black arrow beside the numerical file name. Select “Name…” from the drop-down menu.

ss4

3. Change the track name to whatever you feel will make sense to you as you edit.

ss5

4. Revel in the fact that you now know what is on each track.

 

I know it’s not a huge tip, but it’s one that will save you time and hair-pulling-out once you don’t have to hit play to find out what’s on each track. Hopefully it’s helpful!

-EEP

One thought on “Knowing what you’re working with

Leave a Reply

