Navigation Made Easy

Well you know what they say, better late than… or, I’ll be late for my own… you get the idea. I know that the early bird gets the worm, but if you ask me a worm is a pretty crappy prize for consistent punctuality. Worms gross me out. It would work better if it was like “the early man gets to avoid the rage induced blood pressure spike caused by morning rush hour traffic” or “the early Instagram addict gets to post the days first Pumpkin Spice Latte pic”. Bear with me, I get off track easily.

Okay, so on the off chance you’re still reading this, allow me to say that all of your DIY posts were truly helpful. I hope some of the quick tips I outline can be, at the very least, more useful than the picture of that coffee your friend Courtney just posted.

Here We Go:

Zooming Without The Magnifying Glass

  • Pressing “Cmd-1” / “Ctrl-1” allows you to zoom in on the specific point where your cursor is placed
  • Press “Cmd-3” / “Ctrl-3” to quickly zoom out
  • Both of the above can be pressed until the desired zoom level is reached
  • “Cmd-2” / “Ctrl-2” allows you to return to the standard zoom level
  • “Cmd-f” / “Ctrl-f” makes it so that your whole project fits horizontally into the window (the longer and more complex the project, the more useful this shortcut is)
  • “Shift-cmd-f” / “Shift-ctrl-f” makes it so that the whole project fits vertically into your window. You’ll be able to see how all your tracks line up with each other more clearly after using this shortcut
  • Also, If you’re using a mouse with a scrollwheel you can place the cursor over the area you want, hold “Cmd” / “Ctrl”, and use the wheel to bring the selection in or out.
  • Hold “Shift” and use the scrollwheel to quickly move horizontally through your timeline

Jump To A Specific Time In Your Project

  1. Enable the selection toolbar by pressing “View Menu > Toolbars > Selection Toolbar”
  2. Enter a time under “Selection Start”
  3. Press the Spacebar twice
  4. The view will jump to your selected location

Learn More!

  1. Go to the Audacity Menu > Preferences
  2. Go to “Keyboard” to learn, set, or change the shortcuts
  3. Go to “Mouse” to learn, set, or change  the shortcuts associated with your mouse

I hope you are now leaving this post better equipped to efficiently create your Audacity projects. These little tricks have saved me some time, and I think they will do the same for you!

“The other day I entered 10 puns into a pun contest. None of them won. No pun in 10 did.” I’ll uhhhh…yeah I was just leaving

-BPD

Leave a Reply

